Is Kosher Halal?

MV: I found this article at

http://www.cometoislam.com/halalmeat.htm it tells you the true difference between Halal and Kosher. Not all Kosher is Halal but , all Halal is Kosher. This means to be very careful if you ever eat Kosher it can be possible if it is Heram.  This is all according to an Islamic scholar.

Kosher is from the Hebrew word kasher, which means “fit” and “proper”. The term is usually used for food that Jews are permitted to eat under dietary laws that are derived from passages in the biblical books of Leviticus and Deuteronom.


Some elements of Jewish and Islamic dietary laws are common, while some are not. Here are some major differences:



Kosher

Blessing on animals

Blessing before entering slaughtering area, not on each animal

Blessing on each animal while slaughtering

Gelatin from:

Dry Bones


Skin and Bones


Fish


Pork


Maybe


From Kosher animals


Kosher fish only


Allowed by some liberal orthodox rabbis


Halal bones only


From Halal animals


Any fish


Not allowed at all


Alcohol

Permitted, depending on source

Not permitted

Combining Dairy & Meat

Not permitted

Not an issue

Special Occasion

Additional restrictions during Passover

Same rules apply all the time


It must be noted that if a product is Kosher certified, it does not mean that the product is automatically Halal. While it is true that Kosher certification can be used as a tool for eating halal, one must be very careful. There are Kosher certification agencies which certify products and ingredients which are not considered Kosher by many Jews.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s